AECP: Member Of First Aid Industry Reference Committee

Membership currently consists of 10 organisations:

First Aid Council Members
· Australian Emergency Care Providers
· Australian Red Cross
· Royal Life Saving Society Australia
· St John Ambulance Australia
· Surf Life Saving Australia

Other Members
· Australian Council for Private Education and Training
· Australian Resuscitation Council
· Council of Ambulance Authorities
· Department of Defence
· Health Services Union

Chair is Peter LeCornu from St John Ambulance Australia

Deputy Chair is Phillipa Wilson from Australian Council for Private Education and Training



The inaugural First Aid Industry Reference Committee (IRC) meeting was held via teleconference at 11am on the 6th April 2016.

Explanations were provided on the new system for training package development including the roles of the Australian Industry Skills Committee (AISC), Industry Reference Committees (IRCs) and Skills Service Organisations (SSOs). The draft MoU for IRCs were reviewed and discussed.

Also discussed was development of the one-year and four-year workplans. No critical training package work is to be listed in the first year workplan as the first aid units were only recently endorsed. SkillsIQ proposed that the next IRC meeting be held end of June/early July (date TBC), as the four-year workplan is due to be submitted by the end of July. Possible inclusions for the four-year plan are Defibrillator training, and the strengthening of HLTAID004 to ensure content meets national requirements for the childhood education sector.